You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Valcuha, Juraj

Wagner, Richard - Composer
Pfitzner, Hans - Composer
Strauss, Richard - Composer

Venue: E Werk, Saarbrucken
Date of Concert: 2008
Playing Time: 01:36:00
Television Director: Schmidt, Torben
Catalogue Number: A055123920000

Johannes Moser is the name to watch among today's young violoncello virtuosos. Born in 1979, he has already performed with many of the world's leading orchestras, such as the New York Philharmonic, the London Symphony Orchestra and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, with which he made his U.S. debut under Pierre Boulez. His agenda is packed with appearances ranging from concerto soloist to chamber music partner to interpreter of avant-garde music on an electric cello.

In this concert of late Romantic music with the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie, the 2008 Echo Classic Award winner boldly infuses Hans Pfitzner's Cello Concerto in A minor with a jolt of adrenaline that could very well boost this rarely heard work – which was long thought to be lost – into the concert repertoire. Written in 1883, Richard Strauss' Romance in F major for cello and orchestra is an early work from the pen of this orchestral master, and another showcase for the talent of Johannes Moser.

The concert also features another rising star of the classical music scene, the young Slovak conductor Juraj Valcuha, the principal conductor of the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra. Doing full justice to the refined atmosphere of the German late Romantic works on the program, which also includes a Wagner overture, excerpts from Pfitzner's opera Palestrina and Strauss' Rosenkavalier Suite, conductor Juraj Valcuha soon makes it clear that elegance and transparency are his specialty. Critics praised his ability to achieve a remarkable depth and to entice top-quality playing from the orchestra without exaggerated gestures.

Part 1

Select language: